Sunday Reflection: Three things you can do for liberty | Glenn Harlan Reynolds | Columnists | Washington Examiner

Excellent piece by Glenn “Instapundit” Reynolds – of his three ideas, this is my favorite, and unsurprisingly, the one I’ve most adhered to for years. I used to subscribe to several magazines and read four newspapers a day. I haven’t bought a paper in ages, and cancelled my last magazine subscription, Dwell, after it’s “greening” and one too many reader letters bitching about SUV ads. Don’t need it, don’t want it.

I took this farther when I quit giving clicks to Deadspin and Jalopnik, two of my favorite Web sites, but also part of Nick Denton’s Gawker empire. I still have Lifehacker in my feed, but I rarely go to the site. I got rid of D-Listed off my links list at the GOC after one-too-many disgusting left-field Sarah Palin insults. It was my favorite gossip sites, but I won’t give clicks to anyone who so openly hates one side without also offering some hate the other way.

In this regard and many others, I’ve become conscientious about who and what I will give my money to, and so have many others. GM’s decline has been accelerated by the government’s using of taxpayer money for, in essence, a union bailout. I was always a Chevy guy, but I’ll never buy another GM car – Toyota all the way now. And so on – you get the drift – anyway, a great piece by Reyonlds:

* Stop supporting the enemies of freedom and start supporting your friends. Cancel your subscriptions to cable TV channels, magazines or newspapers that support big government over individual liberty.

Give your money to people, companies and publications that support your ideals rather than undermine them. The so-called “mainstream media” isn’t really “mainstream” at all in terms of its ideas and beliefs.

It’s only mainstream because it’s the biggest media sector. But it’s been shrinking for years. Help speed its path to irrelevance. Likewise for other businesses: If they support government policies that reduce freedom, do business with someone else.

This may not change their mind: If media companies cared solely about the bottom line, the New York Times would have changed its tune years ago, instead of becoming steadily more PC. But it will reduce their importance.

via Sunday Reflection: Three things you can do for liberty | Glenn Harlan Reynolds | Columnists | Washington Examiner.

About godsowncrunk
I'm King B, the originator of the Jellywhite lyrical style and god's own crunk.

Leave a Reply

