What would de Sade say about Anthony Weiner?

Although it’s not his best work, Philosophy in the Bedroom is probably my favorite of Marquis de Sade’s writing – the perfect mixture of filth, philosophy and a 15-year-old girl who has a day to remember. Anyway, I re-read the work last night (skimmed, really, although I re-read my volumious notes as well), and here’s a passage that sums up it up, now that Weiner’s getting deeper and deeper into it with the revelation he was DMng with a 17-year-old high school junior.

Before continuing, the age of consent in my state is 16. Aside from that, I see nothing immoral about a grown man texting, sexting or sexing up a 17-year-old girl (fwiw, I’m not a father, not married, and have no plans or interest in either). However, Anthony Weiner is a Democrat, a Congressman and an asshole, so he deserves what he gets. Yeppers. Anyway, I found this passage and thought it relevant:

We wonder that savagery could ever reach the point where you condemn to death an unhappy person all of whose crime amounts to not sharing your taste.

I’m quite happy about this story for political reasons, and the media’s disinterest in the story as it pries deeper and deeper into the mundane details of Sarah Palin’s emails is useful to me – my standard retort to anyone who justifies their hateful obsession with Sarah Palin is keep fucking that chicken. 

However, the undercurrent of pious moralism regarding Weiner is, while not breathtaking, at least disturbing. Although it’s doubtful that Christ said it, he who has no sin may cast the first stone is sort of relevant here, especially in an age of Facebook and Twitter, where one cocktail too many can lead to online conversations with old flames that would infuriate one’s spouse, to say nothing of calling into question one’s fidelity. I keep seeing the word “pedophile” pop up in comments, even though Weiner, in the unlikely event he actually consummated his tweelationship with a Delaware girl, wouldn’t even be guilty of hebophilia, much less pedophilia – he would be guilty of being a middle-aged man attracted to a woman entering the height of her beauty, a phase that lasts about six or seven years.

The last time I dated a 17-year-old girl, I was 23 and she was more mature than me, so it evened out. I wasn’t, however, a married Congressman. However, as giddy as the right-wing press is regarding this story (and I’m giddy right along with said press) I think it should be clear that Weiner was creepy and misguided for his alleged Tweeting, especially since he’s married – but flirting with a 17-year-old girl isn’t a crime, nor should it be.

About godsowncrunk
I'm King B, the originator of the Jellywhite lyrical style and god's own crunk.

2 Responses to What would de Sade say about Anthony Weiner?

  1. Eric says:

    “…but flirting with a 17-year-old girl isn’t a crime, nor should it be.”

    Agreed. Unless we are talking about my daughter, in which case not only is it a crime but one worthy of advanced interrogation techniques followed by Braveheart caliber capital punishment.

    In a perfect world the law would find a way to balance out a man’s natural right to flirt with an attractive female against a father’s right to castrate punks engaged in attempts to make him a grandfather prematurely.

Leave a Reply

