Previously on the Internet: TGIF or something

Happy Friday, folk. Whenever you think life is getting you down, just remember, someone could be fact-checking you … Tweets?

First, it’s Jean-Luc Godard’s birthday. Here’s the trailer for my favorite foreign film, Breathless, which paved the way for all sorts of mayhem in the cinema and telegraphed the awesomeness of Quentin Tarantino’s career:

I couldn’t wake up this morning – I’m sure it had nothing to do with AOL Electronic blaring into my ear all night, but whatever – I like AOL house music, dammit.

I love the New York Giants blindly, but and I’m glad Antrell Rolle reconsidered this shitheadedness:

They want to make it that guys paid this much money for a ticket. Yeah, I understand that, I understand completely. We risk ourselves out there on the field each and every day also. When soldiers come home from Iraq you don’t boo them. I look at it the same way. I take my job seriously.

Happily, he walked back his words and apologized. From PFT:

“I gave the analogy as far as when you have troops coming from Iraq they don’t get booed.  And you know, it’s not even a comparable analogy,” he said not long after making the comments, according to Mike Garafolo of the Newark Star-Ledger.  “You cannot remotely compare what we do as opposed to what they do.  They’re fighting for our freedom, they’re fighting for our country, we’re out there playing a game.  At the end of the day, it’s a game.  We get paid a lot of money, I understand that. But at the end of the day it’s a game. . . .“But some people, I’m sure they’re going to take that and run and say, ‘Oh my God, Antrel is comparing himself to troops in Iraq.’ No I’m not comparing myself to troops in Iraq,” Rolle said. “I couldn’t [serve in the military].  I’m not brave enough to do it.  I’ll be the first one to admit it.  I’m not brave enough to do that so I’ll definitely tip my hat to those guys and those troopers that risk their lives and put their lives on the line in order for me to play the sport I love to play. “It’s not Antrel comparing himself.  I’m just going to clear that up so you know that.  It’s not that at all.”

Big Hollywood gives The Wall a hella-good review – I look forward to seeing it, though sadly on DVD. While nobody beats Zeppelin in my book, Pink Floyd will always be my favorite sonic-awesome, before I was a teenager rock band…

Legal Insurrection drops the funny again in bumper sticker form:

Although he’s not really a Conservative, he’s certainly made headlines this year – Chris Christie edged out Sarah Palin as the choice of Conservative of the Year by a collection of right-wing bloggers…

Speaking of Palin – and when are we not these days? – James Lewis offers up some good red meat over at AmThink:

This may be the crucial time for history to produce the woman, a critical time for a charismatic conservative to reverse the damage done by the Left. The single most important fact is that Sarah Palin can communicate. She can talk to the American people without talking down to them. She can have a real conversation, and it is high time to have a good talk with the American people. George W. Bush is a man of honor and character, but Bush knew his own limits. He could never explain himself the way Reagan did. Bush Sr. had exactly the same limitations.

Here’s a modern-day Stone Fox with a twist – no heart explosion! Via Just one Minute:

SAN FRANCISCO — A top runner who hits the wall. A coach with a cruel illness. A state championship at stake. Such was the situation last Saturday when Holland Reynolds, a star runner from a small private high school in San Francisco, collapsed at the state cross-country meet and crawled across the finish line to clinch the championship for her team.

And finally, how better to start the day than Eric Cartman being interviewed on NPR:

About godsowncrunk
I'm King B, the originator of the Jellywhite lyrical style and god's own crunk.

Leave a Reply

